Evaluation Criteria and Jury

Evaluation Criteria

The selection process of the ees AWARD is based on the following criteria:

A. Degree of Technological Innovation (30%)

  • Technological advancement
  • Extraordinary characteristics
  • Technological creativity and quality

B. Technical and Environmental Benefits (15%)

  • Technological benefits
  • Environmental benefits and socially relevant features

C. System Integration (10%)

  • System interfaces
  • Installation
  • Compliance with international technology standards

D. Safety (15%)

  • Compliance with international safety standards

E. Economic Benefits (15%)

  • Economic benefits for the user
  • Demand, markets and marketing strategy

F. Proof of Innovation (10%)

  • Proof of functionality and ingenuity, test results, certifications, patents, references

G. Presentation (5%)

  • Format and quality of description and presentation
  • Extent of application documentation

Jury Members

Prize winners are selected in a two-stage selection process:

1. A body of recognized experts selects the best entries (finalists) in each of the categories from all those submitted.

2. An independent jury made up of representatives from research, science, and the trade press then chooses this year’s winners from the finalists.

Arnaud Delaille
Head of Laboratory Department for Solar Technologies (DTS)
Laboratory for Electrochemical Storage (LSEC)


Julian Jansen
Senior Analyst
IHS Markit Technology

Nina Munzke
Team Leader Stationary Storage Systems
Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT)

Dipl.-Ing. Heiko Schwarzburger MA
„photovoltaik - Solartechnik für Installateure, Planer und Architekten“
Alfons W. Gentner Verlag GmbH & Co. KG

Dr.-Ing. Matthias Vetter
Head of Department
PV Off-Grid Solutions and Battery System Technology
Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE

Prof. Dr. Martin Winter
University of Muenster
MEET Battery Research Centre
Institute of Physical Chemistry